Jurisdiction and Seats of
Indian High Courts

Practical Lawyer 
SC Digest 
SCC Online 
Supreme Court Calender 
Name Date of establishment Act by which established Territorial jurisdiction Principal Seat Bench(s)
Allahabad 1 11-6-1866 High Courts Act, 1861 State of Uttar Pradesh Allahabad Lucknow
Andhra Pradesh 5-7-1954 Andhra State Act, 1953 State of Andhra Pradesh Hyderabad  
Bombay 14-8-1862 High Courts Act, 1861 State of Maharashtra, and Goa and U.T. of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu Bombay Nagpur, Panaji and Aurangabad
Calcutta 2-7-1862 High Courts Act, 1861 State of West Bengal and U.T. of Andaman and Nicobar Islands Calcutta Circuit Bench at Port Blair
Chhattisgarh 11-1-2000 Madhya Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2000 State of Chhattisgarh Bilaspur
Delhi 2 31-10-1966 Delhi High Court Order, 1966 National Capital Territory of Delhi Delhi  
Guwahati 3 1-3-1948 Government of India Act, 1935 as adopted by the Indian Provisional Constitution (Amnedment) Order, 1948 States of Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Nagaland,Tripura, Mizoram and U.T. of Arunachal Pradesh Guwahati Kohima (established on 1.12.1972), Imphal (established on 24.1.72), Agartala (established on 24.1.72), Shillong (established on 4.9.74), Aizwal (established on 5.7.90), and Itanagar (established on 12.8.2000).
Gujarat 1-5-1960 Bombay Re-organsisation Act, 1960 State of Gujarat Ahmedabad  
Himachal Pradesh 2 1971 State of H.P. Act, 1970 State of Himachal Pradesh Shimla  
Jammu & Kashmir 28-8-1943 Letters Patent issued by the Maharaja of Kashmir State of Jammu & Kashmir Srinagar & Jammu  
Jharkhand 2000 Bihar Reorganasation Act, 2000 State of Jharkhand Ranchi  
Karnataka 4 1884 Mysore High Court Act, 1884 State of Karnataka Bangalore  
Kerala 5 1958 The Kerala High Court Act, 1958 State of Kerala and U.T. of Lakshadweep Ernakulam  
Madhya Pradesh 6 2-1-1936 Government of India Act, 1935 State of Madhya Pradesh Jabalpur Gwalior and Indore
Madras 15-8-1862 High Courts Act, 1861 State of Tamil Nadu and U.T. of Pondicherry Madras Madurai
Orissa 3-4-1948 Orissa High Court Order,1948 State of Orissa Cuttack  
Patna 9-2-1916 Government of India Act, 1915 State of Bihar Patna
Punjab & Haryana 2 7 11-8-1947 High Court (Punjab) Order, 1947 State of Punjab and Haryana and U.T. of Chandigarh Chandigarh  
Rajasthan 21-6-1949 Rajasthan High Court Ordinance, 1949 State of Rajasthan Jodhpur Jaipur
Sikkim 1975   Article 371-F(i) vide Constitutional (Thirty-Sixth Amendment) Act, 1975 State of Sikkim Gangtok  
Uttranchal 2000 U.P. Reorganisation Act, 2000 State of Uttranchal Nainital  
  1. Origally known established at Agra. Shifted to Allahabad in 1875.
    Return to Text
  2. Lahore High Court established in 21-3-1919. Jurisdiction covered undivided Punjab and Delhi. In 11-8-1947 a separate High Court of Punjab was created with its seat at Simla under the Indian Independence Act, 1947 which had jurisdiction over Punjab, Delhi and present Himachal Pradesh and Haryana. In 1966 after the reorganisation of the State of Punjab, the High Court was designated as the High Court of Punjab and Haryana. The Delhi High Court was established on 31-10-1966 with its seat at Simla.
    Return to Text
  3. Originally known as the High Court of Assam and Nagaland, renamed as Guwahati High Court in 1971 by the North East Areas (Reorganisation) Act, 1971.
    Return to Text
  4. Originally known as Mysore High Court, renamed as Karnataka High Court in 1973.
    Return to Text
  5. High Court established at Ernakulam by an Ordinace of 1948. This was repealed by the Travancore-Cochin High Court Act, 1949. The State then came to be known as Kerala. The Kerala High Court Act, 1958 laid down the powers, jurisdiction and authority of the Kerala High Court.
    Return to Text
  6. Under the Government of India Act, 1935 by a Letters Patent dated 2-1-1936 a High Court was established at Nagpur for the Central Provinces. After the reogansiation of States, this High Court was shifted to Jabalpur in 1956.
    Return to Text
  7. Originally known as Punjab High Court, renamed as Punjab & Haryana High Court in 1966.
    Return to Text


Home 34 Lalbagh, Lucknow, INDIA - 226 001
Phones : +91 522 226517/223171
Fax : +91 522 224328
e-mail : sales@ebc-india.com    Web : www.ebc-india.com

1998 - 2005 © Eastern Book Company